Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Springer Trolling 101 Tutorial

1. Default Springer Trolling 101 Tutorial

In response to Matt's call out for tutorials I thought i would share the basics of my favorite fishery. Trolling for Spring Chinook is probably my strongest season however I admit I am by no means an expert, so I thought I would put together the gear, bait, and tactics necessary to get any rookie started. This tutorial is geared toward the lower Columbia and willamette fisheries but will touch on some key differences in each.

Gear-

Lets start with choosing a rod, i prefer a moderate action 10-20# line class 8'6" in length. Specifically one designed for pulling plugs for salmon will work well with it's sensitive tip and strong back bone. Another good choice is a mooching rod, I experimented with these last season with good success, the fish can completely load the rod up before feeling any resistance.

Reels are simple, it needs a strong and smooth drag and the ability to hold a couple hundred yards of line. I am partial to Shimano's but most 300 to 400 series reels will work just fine.

What type of mainline to use is up for debate, I like 50lb braid such as power pro but a good 25lb mono works well also, especially if you are limited to using a heavier rod the stretch in the mono will help compensate a little.

Hook size is important; go too small and you can miss a lot of fish, go too large and your herring wont roll correctly. i usually use size 3/0 in front and 4/0 for the trailing hook. stepping down to 2/0 and 3/0 will work as well but I generally don't go any smaller. for green label herring cut plug tie your hooks fixed at about 6" apart, if you want to fish whole herring rig the top hook sliding so the bait can be pulled into a slight curve. 30lb is a good size for leader.